Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Annalese tutors in Chicago, IL

Annalese D.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

In 2006, I received my BA from Bethany College, West Virginia (Major: English Literature; GPA: 3.996). I have a certificate from the City University of New York's prestigious Summer Latin Institute, where I graduated magna cum laude in 2006. I went on to earn a Master's Degree from Harvard Divinity School in 2010 (Master of Theological Studies, Religion, Literature, and Culture; GPA: 3.93). Now, I'm a graduate student in the English Department at Northwestern University, currently finishing a dissertation on Lovesickness in Medieval Literature. (GPA:3.925)

Experience

Teaching is my favorite part of my graduate work at Northwestern, and I love tutoring because it is the most hands-on form of teaching! I've taught classes on British Lit, Medieval Drama, Shakespeare, the Bible as Literature, and Freshman Composition. I spend a lot of time working with my students to improve their understanding of literature and their writing. I also teach graduate-level classes on Medical Humanities at Northwestern's Feinberg School of Medicine; I enjoy the challenge and rewards of translating my humanities training into a context that is understandable and interesting for people who come from a sciences-based background. I have done a lot of ad-hoc tutoring. As an undergraduate, I worked for the Student Resource Center, tutoring my peers in Philosophy and English Lit classes. While earning my Master's Degree, I worked for a tutoring company in Boston that primarily supported Korean students studying abroad in the area's prestigious private schools. There, I tutored students from 5th through 11th grades in writing skills, vocabulary, literature classes, and I helped students to develop their writing skills. Predating these two important experiences, I spent some time between high school and college in China teaching students English!

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekdays in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I'm a jane of all trades who finds the world an immensely and endlessly fascinating place! I spend a lot of time reading about science and the natural world (I love following NASA on Twitter!) I always keep myself busy and enjoy doing things with my hands, from playing the cello to knitting to bookbinding!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!