Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rebecca tutors in Chicago, IL

Rebecca T.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

I graduated from Amherst College with a bachelor's degree in Chemistry in 2012. After taking two years off to work in healthcare software technology, I began the PhD program in Physical Chemistry at the University of Chicago in 2014. I received my Master's degree in September 2015, and I am now working full time in a research group to complete my doctorate (expected May 2020).

Experience

I have always loved tutoring and teaching, and I hope to make teaching college-level Chemistry my eventual career. I am incredibly passionate about the subject, and I love working with students to break down complicated concepts/terminology and apply them to new problems. While at Amherst College, I was both a teacher's assistant and a peer tutor for multiple semesters. As a peer tutor, I worked one-on-one with students to improve their understanding of the material and better prepare for exams. Since starting grad school in 2014, I have been a teaching assistant for 4 quarters, covering a full curriculum of general chemistry topics. My responsibilities as a senior T.A. include running lab sessions, writing quizzes, grading all student work, leading discussions on class topics, and hosting office hours. In short, I have a tremendous amount of experience both learning and teaching chemistry - ranging from high school to upper level undergraduate courses. I am organized, thorough, and sensitive to different students' needs. And perhaps most importantly, I just really enjoy teaching!

Availability

Sunday after 1PM, Monday in the evening, Thursday after 7PM, Tuesday in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I am a native Chicagoan, and I have always loved exploring the city. I often go running and biking throughout the city and suburbs, and I am always on the lookout for new great restaurants. My other passions include exercise (I was a varsity swimmer throughout high school and undergrad), travel, movies, and cooking.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!