Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Lisa tutors in Chicago, IL

Lisa R.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

University of Kansas - Bachelors, English , University of Missouri-Kansas City - Masters, English

Experience

I attended the University of Kansas where I completed a Bachelor of Arts in English. I later attended the University of Missouri-Kansas City and completed a Master of Arts in English. For 20+ years I have written articles, edited newsletters, and written marketing content for my employer, and have assisted other employees with writing professional proposals and resumes. I have found that one of the most important attributes of a good writer is for the writer to become a ruthless editor of their own work, and along with teaching writing, I teach my students how to become powerful editors. I am able to tutor students of all ages, from elementary children to adults. Please contact me if you're looking for help with Elementary Math, 5th Grade Math, AP English Literature and Composition, High School Level American History, Reading, 5th Grade Reading, AP United States History, College Level American History, Writing, 5th Grade Science, AP US History, High School Level American Literature, Essay Editing, 5th Grade Writing, Art History, College Level American Literature, Phonics, 6th Grade Math, British Literature, High School English, Literature, 6th Grade Reading, CLEP English Literature, High School Chemistry, English Grammar and Syntax, 6th Grade Science, CLEP History of the United States I, Adult Literacy, College Essays, 6th Grade Writing, CLEP History of the United States II: 1865 to the Present, Arithmetic, 7th Grade Math, Fiction Writing, Public Speaking, 7th Grade Reading, French 1, Math, 7th Grade Science, GRE Subject Test in Literature in English, 7th Grade Writing, International Business, 10th Grade Reading, 8th Grade Math, Introduction to Fiction, 10th Grade Writing, or 8th Grade Reading. In my spare time, I like to sing and play jazz piano. I love classical music, many types of art, and reading books of many different genres.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Music - Jazz piano, choral music & classical; art; books - love Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Herman Melville, Wallace Stegner, among others

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!