Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
David tutors in Chicago, IL

David K.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

Cornell University, PhD Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, 4.0/4.0 1984. My thesis advisor was Professor Michael E. Fisher and covered two subjects: (1) Surface Tension near Critical Endpoints, and (2) Pair Correlation Functions near Critical Points. Cornell University, MS, Theoretical Chemistry, 1982. UCLA, MS, Theoretical Chemistry, 1980. University of Chicago, BS, Physical Chemistry 1976. Stuyvesant High School, Diploma, 1971.

Experience

Tutoring on and off since High School. Also have taught University classes (graduate and undergraduate) as a Teaching Assistant and as an Adjunct Professor. Enjoy helping students learn. I have also developed and taught classes for Engineers and Scientists at AT&T Bell Laboratories. I also tutoring teenage prisoners when I was a student. My teaching philosophy: Teach a subject while building confidence in a student's ability to do the work. I believe almost everyone can master a subject if it is explained clearly. The next steps involve teaching a student to independently apply their learnings. I tutor English Language and various Social Sciences because of interest and knowledge. My areas of deep expertise include mathematics including statistics, physics, chemistry, and certain areas of engineering (ask). I have published 4 book and almost 20 technical articles, plus invited papers at International Conferences. Worked for Bell Laboratories for 8 years before I went into consulting and technology management.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays after 4PM

Can Meet

Up to 10 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I follow English football, and support Manchester United and Real Madrid. I am teaching my daughter to play soccer. I love Burgundy, Italian, and German wines, and love to cook, especially Italian, Indian, French, and German foods. I also import wines, as a result of supporting the charity wine auctions in Burgundy for the indigent and infirm.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!