Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Crystal tutors in Chicago, IL

Crystal S.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

John Hopkins University - MA in Government, Anticipated graduation date, 2017 Loyola University New Orleans College of Law - Juris Doctor, 2014 Valparaiso University - Bachelor of Arts, Political Science, 2007

Experience

I tutored elementary to high school age children in structured settings for several years in college and afterwards. I also instructed elementary and high school students in common problem areas such as pre-algebra, algebra, algebra-trigonometry, writing, reading etc. Additionally, I helped the students with test preparation for class and standardized tests like the NWEA (MAP) and ISAT. I have taken numerous courses throughout undergraduate and law school that focus on fine tuning analytical reading and stellar writing skills, including my legal research and writing and moot course classes for law school. Also I have completed several independent research and writing assignments for law school and numerous research and essay papers for undergraduate, all of which I received dynamic grades. I contributed a chapter to one of my former professors book on Restorative Justice. In that capacity, I was responsible for researching, analyzing data, writing, editing and proper use of Bluebook/ALWD citation formatting. Given my background I am qualified to provide A+ tutoring services to those who need help in reading, writing, various test preparation subjects, pre-algebra, trigonometry, algebra, and beginner's calculus. I can also provide students with test taking strategies and confidence skills, which are essential to taking and passing tests. I do not have a standardized approach for tutoring. I tend to customize my approach for the session based on the student's individual needs or areas of concern. I can, however, make suggestions as needed. Throughout undergraduate I took the following relevant coursework: Biology College Algebra College Trigonometry College Calculus English 101 English 200 African American History Latin American History Various Philosophy courses Macroeconomics Microeconomics Intro. Political Science coursework Upper level Political Science with focuses in International Relations, Constitiutional Law and Judicial Process. Communications Law Criminal Justice Throughout law school I took the following relevant coursework: Administration of Criminal Justice Criminal Law Worker's Compensation Family Law Constitutional Law First Amendment Alternative Dispute Resolution Arbitration Independent Study Communication Law Property Law I & II Torts I & I Business Organizations Evidence Legal Research and Writing Moot Court Civil Procedure I & II Contracts I &II Wills, Trusts, and Estates Legal Profession and Ethics Secured Transactions Law Payment Systems Law Restorative Justice Law Fair Housing Law Domestic Violence Law Entertainment Law Predatory Lending Law Immigration Law: focus on Refugees and Asylum; Female Genital Mutilation and Asylum Child Advocacy Law

Availability

Weekdays in the evening, Weekends in the afternoon, Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 45 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I love cooking and taking my children around the beautiful city of Chicago to explore its rich attractions like the local museums and parks. I also have a keen interest in changing the way the current public primary and secondary educational system is structured. I feel there needs to be more use of programs that welcome college students and graduates (with proper screening) back into the schools as mentors, tutors and role models. Also I do believe that every child can receive a decent education that is tailored to their individual needs and interest. I like to dance, sing and I have an insatiable quest for knowledge and being challenged!

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!