Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Stephanie tutors in Chicago, IL

Stephanie O.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

[***BEFORE EMAILING ME, PLEASE READ THE LAST SECTION ON MY PROFILE FOR ANSWERS TO FAQ's.] Bachelor's degree in molecular biology from Princeton University, 2012. Coursework in biology, neuroscience, psychology, economics, and sociology. High school diploma from the International Baccalaureate program. Salutatorian. GPA 6.0. Ongoing self-study in French and computer programming. Also interested in sociology and psychology.

Experience

Private tutoring since 2008. Primarily with students in middle school, high school, or college / graduate school, but also with students in late elementary school. Extensive SAT tutoring experience: I helped one SAT Math student to raise her score by 180 points, as well as another SAT student to raise her score by 140 points. SAT (scale of 800): 800 Verbal, 770 Math, 750 Writing (79/80 multiple choice subscore). SAT II Math Level 2: 800. SAT II Chemistry: 780. SAT II Physics: 740. GRE (scale of 170): 164 Verbal, 169 Math. AP scores of 5 in: Biology Calculus AB U.S. History Chemistry English Literature & Composition Spanish Language English instructor for three months in a private university in rural China. Certified in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL). Native Spanish speaker. Conversational in French (4 years' study in high school, plus ongoing self-study).

Subject Expertise

Availability

Any day after 10AM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love traveling. I hope eventually to have seen all 50 states and every country of the world! I also like outdoorsy activities, like hiking, climbing, and snorkeling. But I also simply really love education -- both learning and teaching. I've always excelled at standardized testing, so I care about helping students succeed by taking the stress and mystery out of the verbal, math, and grammar/syntax questions on the SAT, ACT, and other common tests. I'm enthusiastic but personable so that students feel comfortable asking questions. Patience is important, and I'm passionate about making those "lightbulb moments" happen! I look forward to helping you / your child be the best student they can be -- with the grades and scores to show it! ***** FAQs from potential students: Sessions are $65/hour, paid in cash, check, Paypal, or Venmo. Frequency is completely up to you; one to two sessions per week is the most common, for one to two hours per session. I typically meet students at these public libraries: Logan Square, Lincoln-Belmont (Lakeview), Wicker Park, Portage-Cragin, Mayfair (Albany Park), Sulzer (Lincoln Sq), Jefferson Park, Independence (Irving Park), or Harold Washington. IN YOUR EMAIL, PLEASE CONFIRM WHETHER YOU CAN MEET AT ONE OF THOSE LOCATIONS. If that doesn't work, we can definitely work something else out; just let me know. I also do online tutoring using Skype and other online tools; we can chat more about it if you'd like! Typically, students come to sessions with homework (and ideally a textbook), or for standardized tests, a study prep book. During sessions, we work on the concepts, problem sets, and/or practice exams in those materials. Please bring any such materials to our first session.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!