Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
May tutors in Chicago, IL

May C.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

May C.537

37 reviews

Education

Bryn Mawr College - BA, Computer Science & Biology

Experience

I am a tutor in math subjects such as algebra 1 through 4, pre-calculus and trigonometry. I can also help with Mandarin Chinese and standardized test prep. Learning different cultures and traveling have always been a big part of my life. I was born in China, then spent a couple of years in Southeast Asia as a young child, and moved to the United States when I was fifteen. I am currently a student at Bryn Mawr College. I am pursuing two majors in Biology and Computer Science. I will be spending a semester abroad in Brazil to study public health and human rights. I am passionate about education and a firm believer that a good education can significantly improve the quality of life. My tutoring style focuses on getting to know each of my students on a personal and academic level so I can tailor a lesson plan to their needs. I also believe in teaching the methods and not just showing them the answers.  My tutoring experience has been diverse so far. I am currently a TA for calculus 1, where I help students prepare for tests and grasp the difficult concepts. I traveled back to China last summer to tutor for the math sections of standardized tests. When I can help a struggling student get high scores on a standardized test, it is the most rewarding experience. I have found that once a student boosts their score, they feel more confident to take on more challenging problems. As a Chinese tutor, the most important lesson I can instill in my students is practice, practice, practice. It is great to see my students gain confidence when speaking such a beautiful language.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Badminton, jogging, binge watching TV shows

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!