Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Michael tutors in Chicago, IL

Michael G.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

University of Chicago - BA, History & Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, Minor in Latin American Studies 2016 Yildiz Teknik Üniversitesi, Istanbul, Turkey - Study Abroad Civilization Program, 2015

Experience

I was a teaching assistant for AP US Government in high school and work as a docent and research project manager at the Oriental Institute, a museum of ancient near eastern history and archaeology. I have worked as a tutor with InstaEDU for a year, tutoring over 200 students in history, writing, standardized test prep, and the college admissions process. I have created curriculums for SAT II World History, SAT II US History, AP European History, and US History, and on average my students raised their test scores by over 200 points or by one letter grade. History (especially European, Middle Eastern, Latin American, and Asian - but foremost is Byzantine history, my field of study and favorite period of history) at all levels is my forte and I love sharing my passion for history with others. I also am a published writer in academic journals and have spoken on NPR, and I have helped with essay writing in several fields and have field experience as an editor in marketing for several groups. I also have helped many students get accepted to top name schools such as the University of Chicago and the University of Pennsylvania and love helping students with cracking the college admissions system.

Availability

Weekdays in the afternoon, Weekdays in the evening, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I play music in both the classical and Middle Eastern traditions on oboe, cello, and duduk. I also love tennis and traveling. I studied abroad in Istanbul and Greece in spring and summer of 2015. I also love reading about history, volunteering for legal and environmental non-profits, and learning new languages, so far just Spanish, Turkish, Portuguese, and Greek.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!