Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alexandra tutors in Chicago, IL

Alexandra C.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

DePaul University, Chicago IL Major in English Literature with Distinction; Minor in History of Art & Architecture

Experience

I’ve been a peer writing center tutor at DePaul’s University Center for Writing-based Learning for three years, where I work with undergraduate, graduate, and international students. I also tutor writing-intensive undergraduate courses across a variety of disciplines by providing informed, constructive criticism to student writers throughout the year. Additionally, I also spend my time fostering relationships with DePaul’s multilingual community as a conversation partner and writing assistant. Helping others with their written and linguistic skills is something that I’m extremely passionate about! Tutoring allows me to combine my academic strengths with my outgoing personality in an environment that strengthens intellectual growth and development. I believe in spending some time getting to know the students I work with to better understand not only what they need help with, but also how I should approach and tailor the tutoring session to benefit their needs. I want to show others that learning is not a solitary effort, but a collaborative endeavor that benefits from shared dialogue, diverse perspectives, and cooperative teamwork.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Friday at any time, Saturday at any time, Wednesday after 2PM, Sunday at any time, Thursday after 7PM, Monday after 7PM

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee

Hobbies

Hello! I’m Alex, and I am currently finishing up my senior year at DePaul University majoring in English Literature with a minor in Art History. I’m originally from Chicago, and I love to spend time in the city with my friends and family. I originally began my primary school years by attending ESL courses, as my native language is Polish. Great teachers and mentors inspired me to continuously enhance my knowledge of the English language: I took honors and AP level English courses throughout high school, work as tutor at DePaul’s Writing Center, and am in the process of applying to graduate schools to pursue a Master of Arts in English. I also spend part of my time working with international students who are at various stages of learning English and developing their written and verbal skills. In my free time, I enjoy reading, trying out new restaurants, cheering for FC Barcelona, watching TV – Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead are my current favorites – and exploring Chicago’s art scene with my friends!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!