Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Cara tutors in Chicago, IL

Cara M.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Cara M.53

3 reviews

Education

BA in 2007 from Pomona College in Claremont, CA. Pure Math Major, 3.56 GPA Fourth year graduate student at University of Illinois Chicago, Pure Math PhD candidate

Experience

TA for Calculus I Spring 2011, Fall 2011 and Spring 2012 TA for college level Algebra Fall 2010 and Summer 2011 College Statistics mentor/homework helper in Spring 2007 College Math homework grader (Honors Calc III, Probability) from 2005 - 2007 High school and middle school math tutor from 2003 - 2007, including: Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre Calculus, AP Calculus Student with learning disability from 2006 - 2007 Upward Bound Tutor/Mentor from 2003 - 2005: Tutored all academic subjects for 2 High School students preparing for college (first generation in families to go) Test Scores SAT: 720 math, 720 verbal ACT: 33 AP: 5 BC Calculus, 4 Chemistry GRE: 800 math (94 percentile), 580 verbal (82 percentile), 5 analytical writing (84 percentile) Completed a pure math major at Pomona College, including the following courses: Honors Calc II, Honors Calc III, Linear Algebra, Combinatorics, Abstract Algebra, Advanced Topics in Abstract Algebra, Probability, Statistical Theory, Real Analysis I, Real Analysis II, Complex Analysis Currently in the second year of a PhD program in pure math at UIC, taking the following courses: Number Theory II, Algebraic Topology, and Algebraic Geometry I took 3 years off from school between graduating college in 2007 and starting my graduate program in 2010 to work for Navigant Consulting, a litigation consulting firm, in Los Angeles. I was promoted after 2 years and was given an offer to start at my boss's new private consulting firm, TM Financial Forensics, months before I left to go back to school.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I enjoy running, and completed my 3rd marathon in Chicago last year. I am a member of my math department's intramural soccer team, and formerly was a member of my company's city league softball team and kickball team. I used to play the tenor saxophone in high school and still enjoy practicing occasionally.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!