Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Elizabeth tutors in Chicago, IL

Elizabeth G.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

University of Illinois at Chicago - BA, Psychology

Experience

I earned an undergraduate degree in Psychology while studying at the University of Illinois in Chicago. I also minored in English, which included a concentration in Gender and Women's Studies, Literature Analysis, and Poetry. I'm now studying to obtain my graduate degree in Creative Writing with a concentration in Poetry.Over the last 48 months, I have worked with students and writers in the capacity of a tutor at various areas in Chicago. Initially, I tutored at various Boys & Girls Club offices, and I later tutored at the UIC Writing Center. It was while engaging in tutoring that I came to understand how critical it is to figure out how students view the world around them in order to best reach out to them and assist them.I'm very versatile, but my primary passion is English concentrations such as test preparation, writing, and language comprehension, since I have a strong attachment to literature. I've come to see the power of words and how words can be the catalyst to bring about self-actualization.My greatest fulfillment comes from helping students to understand complex topics and subjects, and in seeing their confidence grow. Furthermore, I'm wiling to dedicate as much time as it takes to ensure that my students understand the things they need help in.In my spare time, I enjoy biking, reading, running, producing poetry, spending time with my pet, literary criticism, baking, and cooking.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Biking throughout the city (provided the weather allows), long distance running, reading and writing poetry and literary criticism, playing with my dog, spinning my vinyl, and cooking/baking for my film trivia friends

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!