Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Terence tutors in Chicago, IL

Terence M.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Terence M.524

24 reviews

Education

Loyola University-Chicago - BA, Communications , Northeastern Illinois University - MA, Special Education

Experience

I have several years' experience working as a special education teacher, which has shaped my philosophy on education. I believe that every person has their own approach to learning and that it is my duty to find the method that works best with each student. When working as a special education teacher, I had students from several grades in the same classroom, which meant that I had to structure my teaching to encompass a diverse age range of students and to cover all subjects in fifth through eighth grade. Over the years, I have also assisted in regular classrooms and worked as a one-to-one aide in two Chicago school districts. I have knowledge of working with IEPs, both in writing and teaching to their goals. I have vast experience in preparing for the type of standardized tests that are required by the state and district. While I have experience in all subjects, I am the most comfortable in the elementary subjects of Language Arts, Math, Reading, U.S. History, and Writing. Recently, I 've worked as a tutor for Oakton Community College's VITA Program. The program gives ESL adult students the opportunity to work to increase their English skills. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Communications that I received at Loyola University, and a Master of Arts in Special Education from Northeastern Illinois University. I love to read action novels, classics, and mysteries. My enjoyment in History has also led me to read biographies of American figures and their time periods. I consider reading to be a vital skill because it opens up new worlds of interest.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Besides reading, I enjoy traveling when possible, and have been in most every area of the United States and a few countries in Europe. The outdoors have always been interesting and fishing is something I enjoy. I like sports of all sorts, and follow the C

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!