Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
E. Alexander tutors in Chicago, IL

E. Alexander C.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

5E. Alexander C.

61 reviews

Education

Illinois Wesleyan University - BM, BA, Music, History , University of Illinois at Chicago - PhD, History--British, World, Science Studies

Experience

I am a very educated and experienced tutor with a vast amount of knowledge and passion for teaching. Possessing a diverse and rounded set of skills and education, I am prepared to handle almost any students' needs. I employ a wide variety of techniques, utilizing humor, enthusiasm, and encouragement, coupled with many different lesson plans, to fit each student's strengths and weaknesses. I believe that every student can be successful with the right approach and feel that as an educator and future professor, I can assist students in reaching their full potential. History is the subject I tutor most often, though I also do ACT preparation for high school students as well as essays for college admission. It is important for me to help students in every way I can in addition to tutoring, including giving advice, critiquing work, and helping to develop skill sets.I received my Bachelor of Art in History and a Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance at Illinois Wesleyan University. I continued my education, earning my Master of Art in European History and American Intellectual History at Eastern Illinois University. Currently I am pursuing a Ph.D. at the University of Illinois at Chicago, studying British History, Science and Technology Studies, World History, Philosophy, and Teaching of History with intentions of becoming a professor. Outside of academia, I do creative writing, sing, and am an amateur artist. I enjoy cooking vegetarian cuisine, literature, photography, being in nature, and traveling. I also quite enjoy Sherlock Holmes and science fiction.     

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

20 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Singing, drawing, reading, creative writing, cooking, walking in nature

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!