Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Elyse tutors in Chicago, IL

Elyse S.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

5Elyse S.

59 reviews

Education

Northwestern University - BA, Psychology (Spanish minor) , Vanderbilt University - M.Ed, Elementary Education

Experience

I am a tutor from Wilmette, Illinois, and I do tutoring in a variety of different subjects, including elementary and middle school math, reading, writing, essay editing, phonics, social sciences, and English. Additionally, I can tutor students in test prep for various exams, including ASPIRE math, ACT writing and reading, SAT verbal and critical reading, and ISEE- lower level. Even though I can work with students in all these different subjects, I like to teach English, science, Spanish, and language arts. However, the content area in which I am most proficient is English. I attended Northwestern University, where my fields of study were Spanish and psychology. I went on to do graduate work at Vanderbilt University and earned my master's degree in elementary education from this institution. I have always believed that the teaching profession could be very interesting. However, it was my volunteer work with third graders that made me eventually decide to work in the education field. As a graduate student at Vanderbilt University, I gained valuable teaching experience by working with students in second and fourth grades. I also was a student teacher who worked with kindergarteners and fifth graders. In my leisure time, I enjoy getting together with friends and family. I also am involved with animal rights issues.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

0 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Teaching, spending time with friends and family, and animal rights

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!