Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Khat tutors in Chicago, IL

Khat N.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

PhD student in Health Policy and Economics at University of Illinois at Chicago Previous degrees: Master of Public Health, University of California at Davis 2016 Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and Math, University of California at Santa Cruz 2011

Experience

I worked as a math specialist at UC Davis, teaching calculus, trigonometry, and physics to first- and second-year university students. For over ten years, I have been working with students of myriad ages in math, English, sciences, and philosophy. I began tutoring my classmates in middle school math classes and have never stopped. Currently, I tutor students from second graders through university graduates. Although my strongest subject is math, I have worked as a paid learning assistant in philosophy, logic, and physics at University of California, Santa Cruz as part of UCSC Learning Support Services (LSS) for two years. Working for LSS and its equivalent at UC Davis, I was able to sharpen my skills as a teacher. In order to provide students the most out of their study, I practice interactive learning techniques. My goal is to emphasize understanding, critical thinking, and other skills that my students can apply to many aspects of their academic career. Although many students initially express a distaste towards math, physics, logic, and other hard sciences, I find that understanding complex problems affords them the confidence they need to excel in their classes. Having tutored at the elementary, middle, high school, and university levels, I have helped students through many difficult problems. I emphasize developing a problem-solving strategy and making connections between ideas. Ultimately, I intend to guide students of all ages in abstract reasoning skills that they can use, whether they continue on to learn more in the same subject or leave the topic.

Availability

Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

When I am not teaching or tutoring, I like to hike, ride my bike (with or without a cute pup), do yoga, and climb walls. I also love reading (mostly history), learning, cooking, and traveling. Combining some of these things is my favorite thing to do— such as trying new foods while traveling, riding my bike to a yoga session in the park, and backpacking with my favorite pups to a climbing spot!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!