Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Chelsea tutors in Chicago, IL

Chelsea R.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

Salt Lake Community College: Assoc. of Science, May 2006 GPA 3.2 University of Utah: Bachelor of Fine Art, May 2010. GPA 3.7 University of Illinois at Chicago: MS in Biomedical Visualization, May 2013. GPA: 3.4

Experience

No previous tutoring experience, other than community art classes which I volunteered to teach about once a month. I would like to be a tutor for several reasons. The most important reason being that as a person of medical/scientific communication I have the capability to teach students in ways others can't. In the field of medical art, it is my job to educate scientific concepts through visual elements; be that 3d animation, 2d illustrations, or simple design elements. The point being, I have a creative and unique way of articulating complex idea's that allow for visual understanding. This allows students to think more creatively and retain information on a higher level, rather than just reading off a power point slide or a text book. My goal is to engage the student by creating a visual story that they can recall with ease, allowing for creative thinking and memory retention. The other reason I would like to tutor is purely selfish on my part. I think it is important to be able to teach other people about the topics which I am responsible for communicating on a regular basis. Practice makes perfect, and as I've been told by many professors- once you can teach it, you'll never forget it. Relevant classes that I have taken include: Basic biology, chemistry, earth science, Organic chemistry, Physiology, Gross anatomy, clinical anatomy, Pathophysiology, molecular pharmacology, Clinical Science (surgical tools and procedures), and geology. Additionally, I have taken several classes in composing scientific information for education via coding (html, CSS, Flash, and some Java), 3ds Max, Mudbox, Maya and all Adobe Suite programs.

Availability

Weekends at any time, Monday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Technically not on my resume, but I have spent several seasons as a river guide out West (Utah, Idaho, Arizona, and Colorado) and have a deep understanding of earth science and history. Specifically geologic formation, natural resources and weather. I believe the greatest classroom is outdoors and find it a difficult topic to become educated without having experienced it firsthand. Aside from running rivers, I also love to ski, hike, draw, paint, play guitar and violin.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!