Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Hope tutors in Chicago, IL

Hope I.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

Rush Medical College, Chicago, IL, April 2021 Anticipated Degree: Doctor of Medicine Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, June 2016 Attained Degree: Bachelor of Arts in Biological Sciences, Neurobiology Concentration; Spanish Minor GPA: 3.33/4.00

Experience

I am a tutor because I am passionate about the idea of being a life-long learner. I have chosen a career path in which lifelong learning is not only an option, it is required for me to continue to grow as a medical student and a future physician. Additionally, because the field I chose requires a high level of academic rigor, I have had the position of both tutor and tutee, and I have come to understand what helps to produce success in both roles. Most importantly, I love to help kids become passionate about science, because I've found that passion myself throughout my years of study. I believe that the most important part of tutoring is inspiring a love of learning and challenging oneself, setting the stage for a future of success in any subject. I have tutored 4th, 5th, and 6th grade as a part of a volunteer program, at Sumner Math and Science Community Academy. I love working with young kids, and as an employee at the Pedersen-McCormick Boys and Girls Club, I worked with kids from ages 6 to 16. Much of my work was done in the science lab, designing activities and helping to teach scientific concepts during the program. I have studied abroad three times, in Panama, Spain, and Nicaragua, living in Spanish immersion for one week, four months, and two months, respectively, which has contributed to my Spanish proficiency.

Availability

Weekends in the afternoon, Wednesday after 6PM

Can Meet

Up to 10 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

My hobbies are varied. I have been teaching myself piano and guitar, as well as teaching myself how to sing. I was a part of a gospel choir and an a cappella group while I was completing my undergraduate degree at Northwestern, and I have always had a love of music, even before that time. Reading (fiction and non-fiction alike) has always been very important to me, and it is something I still use to relax in the free time I have. I also like to try and challenge myself to create, which has led me to pick up origami, crocheting, and cooking -- hobbies that are very project-driven and goal-oriented.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!