Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Chicago, IL

Jessica R.

Private tutor in Chicago, IL

Education

Ohio University-Main Campus - Bachelors, Psychology, Spanish , University of Illinois at Chicago - Masters, Public Health, Community Health Sciences

Experience

I earned my undergraduate degree from Ohio University in psychology and my graduate degree from the University of Illinois in public health. I have more than fifteen years of teaching experience and am most passionate about teaching math, English, and Spanish. Some of the courses I offer tutoring services for include algebra 1, pre-algebra, elementary math, middle school math, Spanish 1-4, reading, writing, arithmetic, English, and conversational Spanish. I also enjoy working with ESL/ELL students who are working on mastering English as their second language. Over the years I have worked with students of all ages and in a variety of settings. I have learned just how important it is to make the learning process enjoyable for the student. This is especially true if the student is struggling with the content and has formed a negative relationship with the content. In order to make the content more fun and engaging, it is necessary for me to get to know my student. This gives me a better understanding of how to bring in elements they will enjoy into the tutoring session. Ultimately, I hope to teach my students not only the subject area concepts with which they have struggled but also a love of learning that will provide them with more opportunities in the future.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, running, dancing and speaking Spanish. I also love to travel and am always looking for new places to explore and new people to meet.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!